• Home    >
  • Planets in Vedic Astrology - Nav Grahas

Planets in Vedic Astrology - Nav Grahas

Vedic astrology provides detailed information regarding all the planets and their nature and influence. In astrology, planets play very crucial role in governing human life. There are nine planets referred to in astronomy while Vedic astrology emphasises only on the seven major planets. The other two planets are only shadow planets, i.e., Ketu and Rahu, which are considered extremely essential. Astrologically planets have their own significance which influences human life. Our solar system is gravitational system consisting of Sun and other bodies that revolve around Sun.

Below are nine planets or navgrahas in Vedic astrology:

1. Sun or Surya

2. Moon or Chandra

3. Mars or Mangala

4. Mercury or Budha

5. Jupiter or Guru

6. Venus or Shukra

7. Saturn or Shani

8. Rahu or Dragon Head

9. Ketu or Dragon Tail

Significance and essential aspects of the astrology star signs

Planets are the most important factors in assessing the horoscope. Depending on where they are placed with each other, a person’s planets can decide fundamental issues in life, such as happiness in marriage, the number of children they will have, and the kind of career they will pursue and so on. While each planet represents a range of affairs, they each have a core symbolic meaning.

1. Planet Sun or Surya in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic astrology, Sun is considered as father figure. The sun planet or Surya is a royal planet and the king in astrology. It represents the soul, will-power, father, paternal relations, the king or the high officials. It signifies prestige or official position in society. It provides energy to all the planets. It brightens the whole world with its brightness. In astrology, Sun has been called hottest and most energetic planet among all. It’s hot and angry.





Directional strength of Sun:In the Tenth House

Directional weakness of Sun:In the Fourth House

2. Planet Moon or Chandra in Vedic Astrology

Moon is considered to be the mother factor. Moon or Chandra is also royal planet and is queen in astrology. It represents the mind, sensitivity, emotions, the mother, house and domestic comforts and so on. The Moon rules our looks, emotions and our mental health. Well placed Moons tend to promote happiness, social and physical attractiveness, and this can often lead to more remarkable accomplishments. It’s cold and calm.





Directional strength of Moon:In the Fourth House

Directional weakness of Moon:In the Tenth House

3. Planet Mars or Mangala in Vedic Astrology

Mars is factor of anger in Vedic astrology. Mars or Mangala or Kuja is commander in astrology. It signifies energy, courage, younger brothers & sisters, armed forces, police forces, commanders, men in high position, land, engineering, metals and real estate agents. Mars reflects the fighting ability and aggression towards all perils in life. It gives them courage to deal with every type of situation.





Directional strength of Mars:In the Tenth House

Directional weakness of Mars:In the Fourth House

4. Planet Mercury or Budha in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic astrology, planet Mercury is the symbol of intellectuality. Mercury planet or Budha is prince in astrology. It shows the logical ability of a person. It represents intelligence, speech, maternal uncles, short journeys, the medical profession, trade, computers and the web, astrology, accounts, mathematics, journalism, printing and publishing.





Directional strength of Mercury:In the First House

Directional weakness of Mercury:In the Seventh House

5. Planet Jupiter or Guru in Vedic Astrology

Guru is causal planet of knowledge and intelligence. Jupiter (Guru) or Brihaspati is known as “Devaguru” or guru of Gods. Of all planets, it is the most auspicious planet. It represents higher knowledge, priests, temples, spirituality, teachers, research & scientists, lawyers & judges, children, and understanding of the Shastras and astrology.


Gem:Yellow Sapphire



Directional strength of Jupiter:In the First House

Directional weakness of Jupiter:In the Seventh House

6. Planet Venus or Shukra in Vedic Astrology

In astrology, Venus is the factor of romance, love, beauty and all kinds of relationships in life of any person. Venus or Shukra is “Daityaguru” or guru of the demons. It represents sex life, spouse, kidneys and sex organ, music, arts, dance, gems and jewellers, bars, wines, gambling places, acting, fashion, cosmetics and beauty products. Venus mahadasha Saturn antardasha is always bad.





Directional strength of Venus:In the Fourth House

Directional weakness of Venus:In the Tenth House

7. Planet Saturn or Shani in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic astrology, Saturn represents justice. Saturn or Shani is servant in astrology. It signifies hard work, sorrow, old men, servants and lower-level workers, municipality and drainage work people in the iron and steel industry. A well-placed Saturn can bestow tremendous power, prestige, name and fame and a badly placed Saturn can devastate you.


Gem: Blue Sapphire



Directional strength of Saturn:In the Seventh House

Directional weakness of Saturn:In the First House

8. Planet Rahu or Dragon Head in Vedic Astrology

Rahu is not a physical planet in Vedic astrology. Rahu or Dragons Head or North Node represents, foreigners, foreign countries, international travel, engineering and the technical trades, smoke, old men, grandparents, theft, gambling, drinking, nonconformists, the underworld and the bad elements in the society. It is not a planet, but a shadow planet, basically a point in the north node of the Moon. It always follows materialistic things. This planet behaves like Saturn.

Metal:Mixed metal



9. Planet Ketu or Dragon Tail in Vedic Astrology

Ketu is also a shadow planet just like Rahu, but it is opposite of Rahu. Ketu or Dragons Tail represents grandparents, technical trades, spiritual inclinations, superstitions and electronics. Ketu serves only to enlighten and is not interested in worldly fame and enjoyment.


Gem:Cat’s eye


The seven main planets rule seven days of the week:

Sun (Surya) rules Sunday.

Moon (Chandra) rules Monday.

Mars (Mangala) rules Tuesday.

Mercury (Budha) rules Wednesday.

Jupiter (Guru) rules Thursday.

Venus (Shukra) rules Friday.

Saturn (Shani) rules Saturday.

However, Rahu and Ketu do not rule any day

Impact of Planets on its Placement

Each of the nine planets mentioned above produces different results, and at times totally opposite effects, while placed in 12 different rasis. Further, each of them has some good results and some bad results in each sign. This is an essential aspect of astrology which must be remembered. All these nine planets play key role in astrology horoscope.

Therefore, planets are incredibly crucial in astrology. It reflects how life on earth is being handled. Astrologer has to carefully analyse all planets in the horoscope of person to provide a correct prediction, only after that, he offers detailed information to the native.

Sidheshwar Bhalla

Sidheshwar Bhalla

Jyotish Acharya

About Author

Sidheshwar Bhalla qualified ‘Jyotish Acharya’ from Bhartiya Vidya Bhavan Delhi and qualified CA and CS.